I Need Your Help

Doggy KissesThis is a super cute picture of me getting lick-attacked by a doggy named Lucy that is totally unrelated to this post but also super cute!

As I have mentioned before, I will be living missionally in North Church Hill this coming year. As a missionary, I will rely on funds from people that love and believe in me. As of yet, I have raised exactly $0.00 dollars… only $12,000 to go. However, I believe that my God is faithful and that He desires to abundantly provide for His children.

Those of you that know me well, know that I am nearly incapable of accepting help. You have a 200lb box that needs carried up the stairs? I will do that and don’t you dare get in my way! But I am learning that is entirely natural to need the help of those that surround you. In Nehemiah 2:1-10, Nehemiah, the servant to King Artaxerxes (whom we shall call Artie), learns that his home has been struck to ruins. The city he was raised in, and the families that he loves, are in poor condition and in need of his help. King Artie, knowing his servant well, asks Nehemiah why his face “looks so sad” and Nehemiah tells the King of his city. The King then asks what Nehemiah wants and that’s when Nehemiah does something incredible: he prays. Leaving King Artie waiting for a response, when he is a common servant who’s life may be endangered by this disrespect, he prays! After his prayer he responds to the King, “If it pleases the king and if your servant has found favor in his sight, let him send me to the city in Judah where my ancestors are buried so that I can rebuild it”. BOOM! After, working out the logistics, King Artie agrees, sending Nehemiah to the city in Judah armed with guards, gold, and enough supplies to rebuild his home. THAT IS INCREDIBLE!

Why am I telling you this story? I mean, who has even read Nehemiah? Isn’t that the little book we just ignore? I believe this little book draws an exact parallel to my situation now. I want to go into my city, the city of my ancestors, and rebuild it. I have had many a minimum wage job and even now am applying for more, but I must leave those behind to renew Richmond city, just like Nehemiah had to leave his job at the King’s side. To do that, I need your help. I have spent many hours in prayer, just as Nehemiah did before answering King Artie’s question, and know that I must go.

How can you help? There are actually a couple of ways: 1) go to chatrichmond.org/donate, choose the Yearlong Internship in the drop-down box labeled “Designation” and type in my name (Micah Thomas) in the “Who would you like to support?” box to donate or 2) you can email your address to thomasmf@dukes.jmu.edu and I will send you my official support letter and an enclosed envelope in which you can send your check made out to “Church Hill Activities and Tutoring” with my name in the memo line.

 

So, if it pleases you and if I have found favor in your sight, will you help send me to the city of Richmond where my ancestors are buried so that I can rebuild it?

Leave a Reply

