20 Things On My First 20th On This 22nd

Today, July the 22, marks the completion of my first month of being 20. So, with the rise of “list blogging” I figured I would share 20 things about myself on this 22nd. A fairly blunt person, I always wish it was socially acceptable to be brutally honest about who you are upon meeting someone. So, I give you the 20 things I wish I could share without making a terribly awkward first impression.

Cupcake me

Salut! Je m’appelle Micah Fae!

Paris is

1) I freaking love language. Yo hablo espanol y/et j’apprends le Francais! I hope to fluently speak/sign 4 languages by the time I’m 30, those languages being Spanish, French, Italian, and ASL.

 

2) I love Jesus. Like a lot.

 

coffee

3) I also love coffee… almost as much as I love Jesus…

 

IMG_1251

4) The third of my great loves is my dog Mackenzie. A breathtaking golden retriever girl, my love for whom is unrivaled by any human love I have ever felt. I often tell my friends that I could never love a man as much as I love that dog… and that’s totally accurate.

 

no patriarchy

5) I’m a feminist. I believe in the complete social, religious, economic, political, and cultural equality of all genders. I do not believe that men and women are made for different “roles” but I by no means hate men… even if I could never love one like I love Mac Loo.

 

menchi

6) I’m mildly obsessed with dinosaurs… My soul dinosaur being the Mamenchisaurus.

 

toitey

7) I will only use a well-lit bathroom stall. In fact, in my church, I have claimed a toilet as my own. His name is Lenny.

 

Headshot 1

8) The only physical characteristic I like about myself is my hair, for which I use shampoo made for horses… it’s not weird.

 

oh ian...

9) As my beloved Nikolle so delicately put it “You’re wonderfully intelligent but you watch a lot of crap TV”. For example, I am shamefully obsessed (and I do mean obsessed) with the Vampire Diaries. Mmmmm Ian Somerhalder…

 

jc rew

10) I have (and wear) dress shorts even though… what in the heck is a “dress short”. Ah J Crew… you are my downfall…

 

11) I have trust issues… not that I’d tell you where they stem from… I don’t trust you enough for that.

 

IPV No more

12) I am deeply committed to ending sexual assault and Intimate Partner Violence (IPV).

 

julep

13) I’ve never had a manicure. Or pedicure for that matter. And I am totally ok with that.

 

harmony

14) I’ve spent so much of my life singing harmony for beautiful vocalists like Tricia Jane Wiles that I actually can’t hear melody lines. My mom and I make a practice of driving down the road switching radio stations while she tells me whether or not I’ve found the melody line, which I never have…

 

homeless

15) I feel most at home with the homeless of New York City.

 

TheChildrensPlaceLogo

16) I am so small that I can still fit into clothing worn by 5th graders. Most people envy this “skill”, but struggling to find a wardrobe not entirely comprised of rainbow socks and bubble gum pink dresses is actually fairly difficult.

 

alie hats

17) I can’t add. Like, at all. No exaggeration here. 5+8= not a clue.

 

beautiful

18) I have a deep-seated fear of being fat. Having said that, some days I eat like a football player and others I eat nothing at all. But I will eat ALL the trailmix!

 

bfbl_5c_02

19) If you’ve met me, you’ve met my journal. My recycled paper composition notebook is plastered with stickers proudly proclaiming “EAT FRESH, EAT LOCAL”, “PAINTED LADY TATTOOS: Hell Yeah It Hurt!”, “Shenendoah Valley Justice Initiative”, and of course a drawing of a dinosaur from a children’s sticker book. It goes everywhere I go and holds many a private thought.

 

let me be that iam

20) I am hyper-critical, brutally honest, and upsettingly judgmental. I don’t like to be touched and I’m a book snob. I love animals more than people and will always choose a kitty cuddle over any other kind. But like my animals I am loyal and odd and enigmatic. So “let me be that I am and seek not to alter me”.

Leave a Reply

